5 days ago
Harvard
Full Time MBA
Full Time MBA
Round 1
AppliedSep 3, 24
5 days ago
14 Sep 2024 12:09
Hello, I am originally from India and currently residing in the USA. I recently completed my graduate degree in Social Sciences at the University of Chicago, where I achieved a GPA of 3.69. My undergraduate grades were not as strong, as I completed my bachelor's degree through distance learning at Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU). I bring eight years of work experience in the nonprofit sector.
Comments 5 comments
12 Sep 2024, 15:33
Hi. Quick question. Do you have seven years of work experience or seven months?

PS. Killer GRE score by the way!
12 Sep 2024, 16:59
7 Years
13 Sep 2024, 14:53
Any Suggestions ?
13 Sep 2024, 15:11
Thank you and sorry, I missed your previous message 😇

You have a great an interesting profile. I don't know if you had 339 last time you were applying or if it is a new score (sorry for all the questions).
Your score should definitely not keep you out of the programs. At the same time M7's are unpredictable with volume and applications so it is good your applying to a range of them but I also would image in you applying from and going to an NGO background, and M7's do not really place people into Non-profit space. See the non-profit yellow table here https://gmatclub.com/forum/best-mba-pro ... 21312.html and most grads recommend taking the Consulting route to become senior and valuable enough before pivoting back into the non-profit world - here is one such story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YExso7CJYVE

So I would say applying with non-profit as a short term goal is risky. This is a niche space. You are going to be scrutinized a lot more than if you were applying for a consulting job because schools do not want to take risks. They would also, in addition to risk, have to likely offer you a scholarship and that may be a challenge of its own for M7.